Friday, November 7, 2008

I'm back... finally...

Wow. It feels like forever since I've been on here! I have been laid up for a while after a sprained ankle accident. : S Not good. So here's the story... (and here's a beginning tidbit that most of you probably know: I'm not the most physically inclined person I know.) lol : )

Anyways, a couple weeks ago now I went soul-winning just like any God-fearing, Bible-believing, Jesus-loving young lady should! When I reached my area, I realized,

Oops! I forgot to grab some more tracts. Hmm. Well... I've got seven or eight in my purse..

"Hey Joy, do you have any in yours? Two?"

Well that's not gonna cut it. I know: Dad is just down the street, and since we just left him, he probably hasn't started yet.. I'll call him and just get more from him! Aren't I brilliant??
(Yes, I knew you'd think so.)

"Hey Dad, it's me. I just realized I don't have enough tracts. Is it possible to get some from you before you start?"

"Sure! Meet me at the corner of your street, and I'll drop some off with you!"

"Oh good! Thanks! See ya! -- Say Joy, we're going to go up to the corner and meet up with Dad to get more tracts for tonight."

So we start walking. Get this: we are now walking. This requires physical excersise. Can I do this? Of course. I may walk like a girl, but I am quite capable of walking, thank you very much.

Oh my stars, is that a honk? It is! Oh mercy, Dad's up there already and waiting for me! I'd better hurry!

This is where I do something completely.... uh... dumb. I start running. Note: I am not the most physically inclined person I know. Also, I'm wearing 1 1/2 inch clogs.

I can do this! Wow! I am totally running! I'm in better shape than I thought! Happy Day for Nan!

"Nan, STOP RUNNING!"

That's just Joy.. she's probably soooo embarrassed 'cause I'm running in public. Yeah, yeah.. I run like a girl. So what? Dad's up at the corner waiting for me! I have to keep going!

"Nan, you're going to hurt yourself! I just know it!"

The next thing I know, I'm peeling myself up off the pavement. Hoping that my pathetic holler as I fell wasn't heard throughout the entire county, I struggle to my feet and realize that I must've left part of me back down on the blacktop because I'm in grande amounts of pain.

Yup, I did it again.. My entire knee is scraped and bleeding. I've just ruined a brand new pair of nylons! (In case you're wondering: Yes. That was my first concern. Bodily injury is always secondary to a good pair of semi-expensive nylons.) Oh great. Dad wasn't here after all. I think my ankle's busted. Oh yes, definitely busted. If I walk, I faint. Ok so maybe not that bad. Now, slowly go over and sit on the curb. Oh good Lord, I look terrible! Nice.. here comes Dad. Oh MERCY! He's got Paul and one of the boys in the back! This isn't happening. Please tell me I'm dreaming. Nope I'm not dreaming.

"Oh Honey, what happened? Are you ok?" (this is Dad)

"She can't walk! Take us back to the cars and I'll rush her to the hospital! (this is Paul)

"I remember when I sprained my ankle... It hurt for months and months... and just kept getting worse and worse..." (this is a little boy who shall remain nameless...)

"I knew she was gonna hurt herself!" (this is Joy)

"Just let me die peacefully." (this is me)

So. I ended up waiting in the car while everyone finished soul-winning (hey, I wasn't going to have the blood of some lost soul on my hands! They finished soul-winning just as planned! ...only, without me.)

Fortunately for me, Randy and Justin got finished early and ran to the store for an emergency medical supply kit, complete with stretcher and cute paramedics and everything! Well, ok. Not really I guess. But I made it home. Finally. Dad actually had to carry me into the house (now that was funny!) I was able to throw the crutches away after a week (I've determined where crutches come from.... but never mind about that...).

Anyways, here it is... Almost three weeks later. I'm still limping, but I'm doing better. Thanks to all who prayed for me! I really appreciate it! This is a mile-stone for me! My very first injury! I'll have to take pictures of my first sprain and put it next to the pictures of my first cavity! (I'm totally kidding. Please don't get all disillusioned or anything, I'm not all that excited about it..)

Hope you're all having a Happy Day!

1 comment:

Sarah Beth said...

Hi! So sorry to hear about your sprain. Glad you're feeling better though! It totally understand though... trying to take off wallpaper today... I about killed myself! lol

Thanks for writing!
Sarah Beth